top of page

Open Eyes

So many times I dreamed

With my eyes closed allowing the dreams to

Take a twisted turn into nightmares

Now my eyes no longer want to close

They are tired and sore

weighing down my tender face

But they

Do not close

Now

I dream with my eyes wide

I dream in a reality where I can touch

The air

Kiss the grass

Hold the ocean

The nightmares descending to the dark abyss

Where they grow massive, dangerous, evil

But the powerful force

Of the awakened mind fights the

horrid hallucinations

The heavy lids of the eyes

Control whether you see

See what, some may ask

Yet the answer is not for me to expose

We must discover the ambiguous dreams in reality

We must search for the truth within

The purest form of living

We must sit in tranquility

And listen to the enigmatic sounds that create

and fill this world with the true music

The music to our souls

The rhythm to our heart beat

My eyes are wide

and I have found a home in reality

Finally escaping the deathly grasp of the

nightmares that once consumed my life

That once caused me to believe I could

never escape the world of deathly sorrows

I am becoming free

And the roots that seep through the strands

of my kinky hair

Are continuous

Connecting to every living being they encounter

My deep roots are ever lasting

Finding their home in reality

It is, as if,

I am finally becoming human.

As if,

I’m finally allowing my body to

ascend to my mind

And coalesce with all

that surrounds with open eyes.


bottom of page